4 min

Dias is the fourth defender to take the award, emulating Nemanja Vidic, former City captain Vincent Kompany and Virgil Van Dijk

By BBC and The42

Manchester City defender Ruben Dias and boss Pep Guardiola have been voted the Premier League’s player and manager of the year for 2020-21 respectively.

The 24-year-old Portugal international played a crucial role in City’s title-winning campaign after joining from Benfica in September, as well as helping Pep Guardiola’s men claim the Carabao Cup and reach the Champions League final.

In 32 league appearances, Dias contributed to 15 clean sheets, made 35 interceptions, 24 tackles, 23 blocks and 135 recoveries.

Last month he was named the Football Writers’ Association’s Footballer of the Year, and he is among the Professional Footballers’ Association’s player of the year nominees.

A public vote was combined with those of the 20 club captains and a panel of football experts to determine the winner.


Dias is the fourth defender to take the award, emulating Nemanja Vidic, former City captain Vincent Kompany and Virgil Van Dijk.

Guardiola, whose side finished 12 points clear of second-placed Manchester United, wins the managerial award for a third time, having also done so on the other two occasions he guided City to the Premier League title, in 2017-18 and 2018-19.

The other nominees were United boss Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, Leicester’s Brendan Rodgers, West Ham’s David Moyes and Leeds’ Marcelo Bielsa.

Dias was influential in central defence as City won a third title in four years.



City boss Guardiola was named Premier League manager of the season for the third time in four years.

Tottenham’s Erik Lamela was awarded Premier League goal of the season for his ‘rabona’ finish in the north London derby defeat at Arsenal in March.

Spurs took the lead after Lamela’s audacious shot, which went through the legs of Thomas Partey before beating goalkeeper Bernd Leno.

Dias, signed from Benfica for about £65m last September, made 32 league appearances for his club over the season, playing a part in 15 clean sheets.

They won 23 of the league matches Dias played, as they also won the Carabao Cup and finished as runners-up in the Champions League.

The player of the year award winner was decided by votes from the public on the EA Sports website, combined with those of the 20 Premier League club captains and a panel of football experts.

The other nominees were Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne, Tottenham’s Golden Boot winner Harry Kane, Manchester United’s Bruno Fernandes, Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah, Chelsea’s Mason Mount, West Ham’s Tomas Soucek and Aston Villa captain Jack Grealish.


Dias was also named in the Professional Footballers Association’s (PFA) Premier League Team of the Year, and is in contention to win the PFA Player of the Year award, which is announced today.

Guardiola beat fellow nominees Marcelo Bielsa, David Moyes, Brendan Rodgers and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer to the manager award, with public votes combined with those of a panel of football experts.

Having received the award in his two previous title-winning campaigns, 2017-18 and 2018-19, the City manager’s third win moves him level with Arsene Wenger and Jose Mourinho. Only Sir Alex Ferguson has won it on more occasions – 11 in total.





Edinson Cavani’s wonder goal: The type of strike that only special players get to score



Facebook: Zimbabwe Digital News

Zimbabwe Digital News

Contact: (+27) 834767918
See News Differently
Facebook: Zimbabwe Digital News
Twitter: @realdigitalnews