BRICS Addition Of New members A sign Of Growing Influence For Superblock

By Nomazulu Moyo Johannesburg - The conclusion of the BRICS Summit in Johannesburg this week saw a total of five countries being admitted to BRICS with effect from January 1, 2024, said the South African President Cyril Ramaphosa. Ramaphosa announced that in his closing remarks at the BRICS summit - held in Sandton. The BRICS summit started on August 22 and ended on August 24. About 20 countries have officially applied to join BRICS with many having expressed interest in the bloc. BRICS discussed de-dollarisation, increasing collaboration amongst the bloc. "We have decided to invite the Argentine Republic, the Arab Republic of Egypt, the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, the Islamic Republic of Iran, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates to become full members of BRICS. The membership will take effect from 1 January 2024.

Get unlimited access to all our premium content

Plans starting at $1/month. Cancel anytime.

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 173

Leave A Reply

Please Login to Comment.

Open chat
Scan the code
Subscribe to the DSE News Network And Connect With Over 5t Million Zimbabweans Every Month On Multiple Channels

Text (27) 83 305 7778 And Get Connected